Quick lunch on the go! Citrus zucchini pasta…

Oh my goodness – it has been a while since I posted. Just been through the last two weeks of school…. panic meetings before the end of term, field days, two Science fairs, a visit from a falconer for our younger students, speech day (which I took Abbie to) and a ‘Last night of the Proms’ concert at my husband’s school in which we were both singing…. so Abbie came too! All in all, there has been cooking and gardening, but no time to write about it, so I will try to catch up now!

This was a quick lunch I made for myself as I was dashing back and forth from school to home and back again last week… I call them zucchini (we Brits know them as courgettes) because my daughter professes not to like courgettes, but will eat zucchini!! So it has stuck! You fry the zucchini, which gives them a totally different flavour to when they are boiled and the lemon juice cuts through what would be the greasiness of the dish. Feta is the perfect cheese to complement as it has a citrus, sharp note to it and its chalky texture contrasts well with the soft zucchini.

Citrus zucchini pasta – Feeds 1

75-100g tagliatelle (or your choice of pasta)
1 large zucchini/courgette, sliced at an angle to create long rounds (see photo)
1 tblspn rapeseed oil (or olive)
small squeeze garlic puree/chopped clove of garlic
1/2 lemon
25g feta, chopped

  • Cook the pasta in plenty of salted water, to packet instructions
  • Heat the oil in a frying pan and when hot, place the zucchini slices in. Check regularly and turn over when browning, so that both sides get caramalised.
  • When cooked, remove to a warm plate, squeeze in the garlic and stir around the pan for about 30 sec while you zest 1/2 the lemon into the pan, then squeeze 1/2 the lemon into the pan.
  • Add the cooked pasta and stir to coat in the lemony, oily juices
  • Put pasta into a bowl or onto a plate, top with the zucchini slices, chopped feta, a good pinch of sea salt and a grinding of pepper
image

Citrus zucchini pasta

Leave a comment

Filed under Just for me

Leave a comment